Tuesday, October 6, 2015

change

[cheynj]

verb (used with object), changed, changing.

  1. to make the form, nature, content, future course, etc., of (something) different from what it is or from what it would be if left alone
  2. to transform or convert

I have lived for 18 years, 8 months and 10 days. It’s easy for me to say that 18 has been my best year (“The best year so far” – Homer Simpson). Senior year was a blast, summer with my friends was amazing and the passed few months of not being in school and just working have been quite nice. I’ve accumulated (see what I did there) a nice pot of moola. 18 has been a transformative year as well. It’s also easy to say that much has changed.

This August was the first one I can remember not buying school supplies, or having a first day of school. It’s strange to hear about my friends’ school schedules and various trials and tribulations of college while I sit at home watching countless episodes of Criminal Minds. My life has switched from being centered around school to being centered around my jobs. I’m working at 3 different fine establishments. Active Endeavors, Hoover On Campus Care and at Lepic-Kroeger Realtors for the wonderful Julie Dancer. So if anyone needs outdoor clothing, child care or a new house HIT ME UP!

My friendships and relationships are changing also. Some of my closest high school friends I hardly ever see – or they’re hundreds of miles away (@Clara @Chloe). I’m beginning to see who I can rely on who I may just have to let slip away. The biggest change on the relationship scheme of things is Garrett, my boyfriend (please hold you applause and stifle your gasps). He’s a wonderful, courteous, kind, hilarious guy and Merce & Mike luckily approve.

On a completely different note – I GOT MY RAIN JACKET IN!  Which also goes with the theme of change; seeing as it changes fabrics seamlessly. I wore it for the first time a few days ago and it fits perfectly and I didn’t get a drop of rain on me. Did I mention you can buy said raincoat at Active Endeavors on the corner of Clinton and the PedMall for the bargain price of $199.99!! *insert heart eye emojis*

These changes are just the beginning of all changes set to come. Going from the harsh winter of Iowa to the rainy season in El Choco, Ecuador will certainly be an adjustment. From working 40+ hours a week to just several hours a day followed by loads of down time should be interesting to say the least – so stay tuned to ecuacora.wordpress.com to see how I deal with all these changes.

Peace and Blessings,

CBK

Please enjoy these photos of me in my new rain jacket:

DSC_2744

DSC_2737

DSC_2736

DSC_2735

DSC_2732

Leave a comment