Monday, March 21, 2016

alone

[uh-lohn]

adjective, (used predicatively)

  1. separate, apart, or isolated from others

 

After a wonderful week in Quito and the Galapagos with 2 of my good friends, I am now traveling on my own. I’m currently in a small town outside of Cayambe – I’ll be here until Thursday and then head an hour north to Otavalo.

Growing up as an only child I’ve grown accustomed to being alone. I’ve played alone, I’ve cried alone, I’ve grown up alone. Solitude is comforting to me. I’ve found that when I’m with a large group of people I’d rather be alone, or in a group of just one or two. But being in a foreign country, where I don’t know anyone in a 100 mile radius, is making me feel a different kind of alone. One I’m not a particular fan of.

Having my two friends, Anton and Emma, around the passed week was extremely comforting. I’d really missed talking and laughing with friends. They reminded me of home, and the people that I miss. We spend 3 days in Quito followed by 4 days in the Galapagos. We saw sea lions, penguins, a manta ray, hundreds of fish, I swam with baby sharks, we had a darn good time. And its the time that we spent together that reminded me how wonderful of friends I have back in Iowa.

So here I am, sitting in a room I’ve never been in before, in a town where I know nobody, in a country where I am a foreigner. I’m very much alone, and as much as I’d like to be at peace with it – I’m not.

Leave a comment